Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds Unveil New Versions of Oasis Classics at Abbey Road


Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds have recently unveiled new renditions of the classic Oasis tracks Going Nowhere and The Masterplan, recorded at the iconic Abbey Road Studios in London. These new versions of the songs, which have become staples in the band’s recent live performances, are a special treat for fans, particularly following the 25th anniversary of the Oasis B-sides album The Masterplan. The original recordings of these tracks on the album recently celebrated a resurgence, re-entering the UK Official Albums Chart at No. 2 in November.

The announcement of these new versions arrives just days before Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds embark on a highly anticipated run of British arena shows, kicking off at London’s Wembley Arena on the 14th of December. This tour caps off a monumental year for Noel, marked by the release of his fourth studio solo album Council Skies, a comprehensive 26-date tour across the United States, and a series of major UK outdoor headline shows, including at the Crystal Palace Bowl and Brighton Beach. The summer season culminated in the band’s largest headline performance to date at Manchester’s Wythenshawe Park during the August Bank Holiday weekend, an event hailed as “emotional and thrilling” by the BBC, “typically legendary” by the Daily Mirror, and “sounding bigger and bolder than ever” by CLASH Magazine.

Council Skies, widely regarded as Noel’s most complete solo work to date, features tracks such as Open The Door, See What You Find, Pretty Boy, Easy Now, and the current single We’re Gonna Get There In The End, which is currently featured on several key national radio playlists. The album has not only garnered widespread critical acclaim but also earned high praise from notable publications. The Times rated it a “belter” with a 5/5 score, CLASH declared it as cementing Noel’s reputation as one of the UK’s best songwriters with an 8/10 rating, and Uncut Magazine praised it for its “soaring tunes,” also giving it an 8/10. Record Collector named it Album of the Month with a 4/5 rating, MOJO lauded it as Noel’s best post-Oasis album with a 4/5 score, Rolling Stone UK appreciated its “sonic variation” with a 4/5 rating, and NME commended its “lush ballads and purposeful choices” with a 4/5 score.

Adding to their momentum, Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds have also announced their first performances for the summer of 2024. These include four major outdoor shows at venues like Wigan’s Robin Park, London’s Alexandra Palace Park, Cardiff Castle, and Halifax’s The Piece Hall, the latter already sold out following their successful shows there in 2022. Tickets for these events are now on sale.

Fans attending these shows can expect a mix of Oasis classics and a cross-section of material from Noel Gallagher’s prolific career as a solo artist over the past dozen years.

Council Skies is available now in various formats, including CD, heavyweight vinyl with a bonus 7″, LP picture disc, and digital formats like a Dolby Atmos spatial audio version.

Finally, the 2023 UK Arena Tour Dates for Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds are as follows, with the last remaining tickets available here:

  • 14 December: London, OVO Arena Wembley (SOLD OUT)
  • 15 December: Birmingham, Utilita Arena (SOLD OUT)
  • 17 December: Cardiff, Utilita Arena (SOLD OUT)
  • 18 December: Leeds, First Direct Arena
  • 20 December: Glasgow, OVO Hydro
  • 21 December: Liverpool, M&S Bank Arena (SOLD OUT)

Summer 2024 Dates:

  • 17 July: Cardiff Castle
  • 18 July: Wigan, Robin Park
  • 20 July: London, Alexandra Palace Park
  • 1 August: Halifax, The Piece Hall (SOLD OUT)

Tickets for the Summer 2024 shows are available here.

Photo Credit: Matt Crockett

Related Blog Posts